Dear Younger Me, 

blog16.png

Looking back, here is what I wish I could have told you…

Not everyone is going to like you. 

I read a quote once that said “you could be the sweetest peach in the world, and there is still going to be someone who doesn’t like peaches”. That is so relevant. You don’t need to prove yourself to anyone. You don’t need to go out of your way for people who don’t do the same for you. That may seem harsh, but really- don’t waste your time. Keep your circle small because quality is always better than quantity.

Everybody loves a little mystery.

If you have feelings, thoughts, or secrets that you feel need to be shared… write them down in a journal at home, pray about it, or even vent to your mom. But ultimately, keep your personal life private. Trust is something people need to earn, you can’t just give it away.

Get offline and start living.

Nobody’s life is as perfect as they make it seem on social media. Not everything requires your comment. Some moments are better left undocumented. Save yourself from the drama and negativity that is the media today. Once it’s all gone you will feel so much more like yourself. It will become clear who is apart of your real life when you get offline and start living.

Embrace who you truly are.

In a few years, your relationship with God will blossom- and you will feel closer to him than ever before. You will begin to stand firm in your beliefs and opinions. You will embrace a minimalistic lifestyle. You will realize you don’t need to follow trends. You will walk away from people who no longer serve a purpose in your life, and nurture the remaining relationships with everything inside of you.

You are so uniquely you, and you have hardly begun to let that you shine. So stop comparing yourself to others. You are special, and when you truly find yourself… you will think so too.

19 thoughts on “Dear Younger Me, 

  1. Love the advice, especially the truth about being a peach and how to process our thoughts and feelings. It’s so easy to lash out online but it isn’t always beneficial.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love this! I would tell younger me these things as well.. especially about the thoughts needing to be shared.. I was bad for sharing a little to much information online at times! thanks for sharing

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Fabulous advice! I also could have used a lot of these tips when I was younger, especially about keeping some things to myself. Not everyone needs to know every detail of our lives! Mystery is a wonderful thing!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. “Get offline and start living” and “Be your authentic self”–these pieces of advice are vital to true life, not just a fake going-through-the-motions of living. I think people don’t realize how much social media and computers zap their energy and don’t allow them to truly live.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Great advice! I love the peaches quote, my grandma always told me that one. At first I was thinking, “well if I could go back in time and read this…” but in reality, this was encouragement to me now. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Great advice to most tween girls, current or former! I don’t know if you kept a diary when you were in middle school, but I did, and looking back I think middle school Neva could have benefitted from this advice as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Excellent advice. Funny, I wrote about single motherhood in my latest blog post in hopes of helping young people new to it. I agree about what you say about keeping things private. Sometimes I confided in people when I was young and realized, they couldn’t be trusted.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

