Minimalism: What To Declutter…

blog23.png

Today I’m sharing with some things that I have gotten rid of or stopped buying since I began my minimalist journey. Decluttering these items has helped me feel free from material possessions and less stressed. My hope is that you are able to find peace away from materialism and joy from what you do have.

DVDs, CDs, and Books.

If you are someone who loves having hard copy books then keep them, because that brings you joy! I chose to go digital though, because it takes up less space and it is more convenient for me. I know that any movie I want to watch can be recorded on my DVR, found on Netflix, or searched on my Amazon fire stick. I don’t use CDs anymore because I have Apple Music (which has everything- I LOVE IT). And honestly, I don’t sit down and read hard copy books- I usually just read other blogs on my phone! These kind of items were easy for me to get rid of. I did however, choose to keep my blue ray DVD Harry Potter collection that Troy got me for Christmas and my hard copy bible.

Your phone.

We are all guilty of it… How many apps do you actually use? When is the last time you transferred your photos over to your laptop, cleaned out your email, or deleted old contacts? Hopefully this is an easy category for you to declutter! Take some time to sit down and think about what is on your phone that you actually need or that brings you joy- then delete the rest!

Pictures, Letters, and Cards.

For this category, if you can scan it onto your computer and keep it safe on an external hard drive- then you can toss it. I had so many pictures, notes, letters, and cards that were crammed into my memory box. I decided to scan everything onto my laptop so that I could have access to them, but also so they would take up less physical space. This made me feel good because I knew I was not totally getting rid of them. I realize that some of these things may be sentimental items, so keep the ones that bring you joy and digitize the rest.

Clothes, Shoes, and Accessories.

This is something that I cannot stress enough… PURGE YOUR CLOSET! Start by pulling everything out of it and separating your items into keep, toss, and maybe piles. If you know you don’t wear something because it doesn’t fit, it’s damaged, or it isn’t really your style anymore… then toss it. If you feel guilty because the item is really high quality, try selling it online or taking it to Plato’s closet. Otherwise, the clothes that are in your “toss” pile can be donated or thrown away. Now hang your “keep” and “unsure” piles in your closet, but turn the hangers backwards from the way you normally hang them. After you have worn something, turn your hanger back to normal. 6 months – 1 year later, take inventory of your clothes and look at your hangers. If you have items with backwards hangers, then you maybe you do not need it anymore and can toss it.

__________________________________

Disclaimer: I am a very clean and organized person. However, before I started getting into minimalism I did not even realize how much stuff I was holding onto that I did not need. If you declutter one particular category a day, the process will seem a lot less overwhelming

Take a minute to take inventory of your possessions- do you need them?

Do they bring you joy?

7 thoughts on “Minimalism: What To Declutter…

  1. What a great idea for saving cards! I have trouble getting rid of things, but I actually started doing something similar for clothing- snapping a photo and donating!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I tried so hard to purge my stuff when I lived in a house. It wasn’t until my husband and I moved on board a 36 foot sailboat that I learned what purging really was! These are some great tips!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I LOVE purging out items that I don’t need anymore…especially from my closet. I don’t know, there’s something fun about it for me. 🙂

    I’m really wanting to try out a capsule wardrobe for this fall, so that will require some serious decluttering on my end, haha. I’m looking forward to it though.

    What I really need to do is go through my CDs and old notes/letters/cards/etc. and clean that junk out. I have so many CD cases that I really don’t need anymore just taking up space.

    25 Self Care Ideas for Fall

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

